Jeita Grotto Fails to Become One of the 7 Wonders

Lebanon’s Jeita Grotto failed to garner enough votes to become one of the world’s new seven wonders of nature, according to preliminary results announced Friday.
The Lebanese landmark, however, was among the 14 finalists.
The seven crowned the world’s natural wonders are the Amazon rainforest, Vietnam’s Halong Bay, Argentina’s Iguazu Falls, South Korea’s Jeju Island, Indonesia’s Komodo, the Philippines’ Puerto Princesa Underground River and South Africa’s Table Mountain, said the organizer of the global poll, the New7Wonders foundation, citing provisional results.
Final results will be announced early 2012, said the Swiss foundation, noting however that there may yet be changes between the provisional winners and the final list.
Sites which have also failed to make the cut include Tanzania’s Mount Kilimanjaro, the Dead Sea and the U.S. Grand Canyon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s