– Hinchclife becomes second Canadian to win pole at Indianapolis

Hinchcliffe’s pole-winning speed of 230.760 miles an hour (an average over four laps) just edged Josef Newgarden’s 230.700 mph. Former 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay will start outside on the front row after setting a speed of 230.648 mph.

To let the other drivers know how serious he was about landing the big prize, Hinchcliffe set fastest time in final practice Saturday for Sunday’s time trials. He set a four-lap average speed of 230.946 miles an hour around the 2.5-mile speedway. Ryan Hunter-Reay was second fastest and Will Power was third.


Only the fastest nine drivers from Saturday’s runs were eligible for the pole. The mighty Team Penske got three drivers into the Fast Nine but not Juan-Pablo Montoya, who won last year`s 500. Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud plus Power all tried to give the Captain a pole position to help celebrate 50 years of Penske Racing but came up short with Power starting sixth, Pagenaud eighth and Castroneves ninth.